Christopher A. Kaminski

Christopher A. Kaminski
Composer, Clarinetist, Improviser
Water Elephant Music

V. S. O. P. (2016)          for Conn-o Sax and piano.        5 min.


Commissioned by Lisa Freitas. This piece is potentially the only piece ever written specifically for this rare saxophone, the Conn-o Sax. Premiered in Schare Recital Hall. 


I wanted to show the really cool registers of this instrument, because the low register sounds at least very similar to standard saxophones, but the higher register sounds completely unique. I also wanted to piano part to be interesting, too, so I tried to design it with chamber music in mind. 

I really made sure this piece was possible on an Alto Saxophone too, so that this piece can be played more than once (unless the Conn-o Sax has a revival period, which is doubtful).

Here is a preview of the score!