Christopher A. Kaminski

Christopher A. Kaminski
Composer, Clarinetist, Improviser
Water Elephant Music

Reincarnation (2016)        for clarinet, bass clarinet, alto saxophone, vibraphone, violin, and cello.       6 min.


This piece was written for Split the Lark New Music Ensemble for their concert about the afterlife.


Program Notes for Reincarnation:


I believe in reincarnation, and with each life that someone lives, there is a lesson that should be learned during that life. I decided to pair this belief of mine with lessons that musicians learn as they begin to play an instrument, and the lessons they learn as they become more advanced musicians: how to play an instrument, rhythm, melody, harmony, independence, vibrato, advanced harmony, complicated rhythm, countermelody, how to play by one’s self, and how to bend pitch. The performers learn these concepts as the piece goes on, as if they are reincarnating and learning new lessons in each of their lives.

Here is a preview of the score!